26 Miles 26 Lives

17 Dec

I couldn’t let this day go by without mentioning the awful tragedy which happened on Friday, December 14, 2012 at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut.

26 lives and 26 miles. I have decided to dedicate the running of my second Walt Disney World Marathon next month to the memories of the lives that were cut short this past week at Sandy Hook Elementary in Newtown, CT. The names of each of the victims will be written on my arms, and each mile will be dedicated to a victim of these senseless murders.

In closing, I’d like to share with you the tribute from The Voice. I hadn’t shown any emotion since the shootings until now. Having faced death face-to-face when I was a lifeguard, I learned to suppress my emotions regarding death because it would bring back the images of that awful day I faced. I was beginning to think something was wrong with me. That I was so desensitized and so out-of-touch to not show emotion or sadness. Selfishly, I’m glad I finally felt the sadness so many had already felt.

Rest in peace, dear sweet children. Rest in peace to those brave and heroic teachers.

7 Responses to “26 Miles 26 Lives”

  1. notinjersey December 18, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    what a lovely idea.

  2. Michelle @ Run Eat Travel December 18, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    That’s a great idea. That will be a tough marathon to run

  3. Sara@Runninginpinkproject December 18, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    I hadnt seen that yet. Nothing like an ugly cry right before work. Good for you with the marathon dedication friend!! Thats a sweet idea.

  4. Becca December 18, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    What a sweet thing to think of. Thanks for posting this video. I thought I could go one day without crying about this, and I don’t think that is happening today. Beautiful tribute.

  5. Jenn December 18, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    I missed the opening of the Voice yesterday but caught the video after and cried my eyes out. Amazing idea to run on behalf of the 26 lives.

  6. Chris January 15, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    Found your blog while sitting in the airport on the way home from marathon weekend. I did my own tribute this weekend at the marathon, leaving a slide at the mile markers for each of the kids and teachers and did a quick video clip recording with each. One of the folks I run with mentioned that they saw you Sunday and I wanted to say how great I think it was. I heard that others left green ribbons on my slides so it seems like others had this idea as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. reading list, volume 1. - December 19, 2012

    […] 26 Miles 26 Lives via Run, Eat, Date, Sleep […]

Leave a Reply

