The New Year

4 Jan

Happy New Year! I hope you all had fun ringing in the new year! I enjoyed the evening with some co-workers and a glass of Rosa Regale at the Grand Floridian.

new years eve 2012

I’ve been writing this post in my head for the past few weeks. I wanted to make clear, concise goals for this year. But I came up with one vague goal… DO MORE.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve made excuses to skip out on commitments, to call out from work, skip workouts, and quit weight loss programs. When faced with a challenging day, I usually take a nap instead of staring down the obstacles.

This year, that will change. I will honor my commitments. I will complete training programs for races. I will work harder and longer every day. I will stick with a weight loss program until I meet my goal. And by simply “doing more”, I will achieve my goals.

I will volunteer more.

I will run more.

I will spend more time with my friends and family.

I will drink more water.

I will save more money.

I will read more.

I will clean my home more.

I will work more.

I will blog more.

I will love myself more.

In the end, I will come closer to homeownership. I will be a FitFluential ambassador. I will be at my goal weight, and I will be on my way to becoming a Weight Watchers leader. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll respect myself enough to continue to do more in the next year.

you  must do

I realize that I have not followed the “rules” to setting goals (clear, concise, measurable) and I broke the lululemon rules of saying “I will”, but whenever I’m leaning towards making an excuse to skip out on something important, I’ll just remember I promised to “do more”.

What are some of your New Year’s resolutions?

7 Responses to “The New Year”

  1. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. January 4, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    Get it, girl!! I hope you have an AMAZING year!!

    • runeatdatesleep January 4, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

      Thanks, girl! I hope you have an amazing year as well 🙂

  2. Alison January 4, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    Sounds like I need to re-think my “take more naps in 2013” goal… 😉

  3. Sabrina January 4, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    Love your goals, especially the one about volunteering!

    Happy new year, Andrea.

  4. Shannyn (@FrugalBeautiful) January 5, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    I’m totally rootin’ for you! I know even when I set super specific goals they don’t always end up that way and I do something totally different as the year rolls around! Break the rules baby! 🙂

  5. sarahsmithstorm January 5, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    Found your blog throughout looking at Disney runners.. You can totally rock your goals!!! I am doing weight watchers too.. Hoping to lose weight!!

Leave a Reply

