Running with a Camelbak Annadel

7 Jan

Ever since I read Anne’s review of her Camelbak hydration backpack, I knew I wanted one. So when it came time to send Santa my wishlist this year, I made sure to include the Camelbak 2012 Annadel.

I had  been using a waist pack for long runs, but I had to fasten it so tight so it wouldn’t bounce. And that only led to tummy troubles. Having something on my back instead seemed like a much better idea.

So on Christmas Day, I opened up one of my gifts from Santa and found my very own Camelbak!

camelbak 1

 

I can’t wait to put it to use during the WDW Marathon! But first, I needed to test it out first, so I headed out tonight for a 5-mile run. It’s a short enough run but long enough to know if it bounced around too much or had the potential to chafe.

Luckily, the bouncing was minimal, and I don’t foresee it chafing me much at all. And even though the water reservoir was full, it didn’t feel heavy whatsoever. The bouncing could have been even less if I adjusted the sternum strap a little tighter, but it’s going to be laying on my bare skin, and I didn’t want it rubbing too much.

camelbak 2

 

The bag carries 1.5 liters, which is kind of small for a full marathon. But with the Disney marathon having so many water stops, I only plan on using my own water in between water stops if necessary.

camelbak 3

 

I really like all of the pockets, which are big enough to hold trail maps, snacks, keys, gummies, etc. I won’t be able to reach the pockets without taking the backpack off, but it will be good to have some fuel and BodyGlide on me just in case. I’ll also be carrying GU Chomps in one of the pockets in my running capri crops.

camelbak 4

I’m super stoked about this hydration pack. It’s super easy to use and doesn’t bother me while I run. The only thing I would change is to add a magnet so the drinking tube would stick to the shoulder strap. Right now, it just hangs out and bobs around, so I had to stuff it in my sports bra. Other than that, it was a rather successful test run!

5 miles

 

4 Responses to “Running with a Camelbak Annadel”

  1. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. January 7, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    I have the same pack and have really loved it! I agree about the bouncing with the drinking tube, though. I’ve heard rumors there are clips you can buy, but I haven’t looked into that too much.

  2. Jessey January 7, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    I love my camelback – I’ve mainly used it for hiking. I did use it for my first trip to Disney (I didn’t go until I was 30 *gasp*) as it was June, but also perfect for holding wallet, etc. I was planning on breaking it out last summer for running….but I didn’t run last summer 😉

    Just make sure you dry out the bladder well enough so it doesn’t get nasty inside – when I bought mine (which was a long time ago) they had this hanger thing that would go inside to keep it open so it could air out)

  3. Jenn @ Running Jennie January 7, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    I love my Camelbak! I have the Charm and it is perfect. Mine came with a clip that holds the tube so I am sure you can find one. DH also got me the cleaning kit, which comes with the hanger to hang it to dry and brushes/cleaning solution in case you want to put something other than water in it. Also, in case you didn’t know yet – to get rid of the sloshing sound when you run, just flip the bag before you put it in so the air bubble is at the hose end/top, then suck the air bubble out! I would give you tips for cold weather Camelbak running but you are lucky and don’t have that problem! 🙂 Good luck this weekend at WDW!

  4. Anne P January 7, 2013 at 9:53 am #

    Camelbak lovers unite!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

